Avoiding Plagiarism

Students often get confused about the two types of citations.

The first type are in-text citations (also called parenthetical citations), which appear throughout your paper at the end of sentences that you are citing.  These usually include the authors, date of publication (APA only) and page number being cited.  The format will differ for APA and MLA.  An example in MLA format:

Ernest Hemingway wrote all of his novels and stories while standing (Grooms 27).

The second type of citation is the works cited (MLA) or reference list (APA).  This is a list of all sources used in your research and appears at the end of your paper.  Examples are provided in the links in the box to the right.

Styles:

• APA
  American Psychological Association style, most commonly used within the social sciences.
• MLA
  Modern Language Association style, most commonly used within the liberal arts and humanities.
• Chicago & Turabian

Tools & Information:

• Citation Builders
  These online tools create citations using information you provide about your sources- you choose the citation style.
• Avoiding Plagiarism

Citation Builders
Note: Students are strongly encouraged to consult a style handbook or trusted web site to ensure that the citations generated by these sites are complete and correct.

• NoodleBib Express
  Generate citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago style, then copy and paste what you need into your document.
  
  
• KnightCite
  Generate citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago style, then copy and paste what you need into your document.
  
  
• Database Citation Builders
  Many library databases include a citation builder feature that will create a citation for any article/abstract/item you view. Check with your campus library for help with locating & using these features.

APA

• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): APA Formatting & Style Guide
  An excellent resource from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University.
  
  
• American Psychological Association Style
  View "The Basics of APA Style" tutorial, see what's new in the 6th edition, and find help in the Frequently Asked Questions section.
  
  
• Research and Documentation Online- Diana Hacker
  Includes guidelines for documenting print and online sources in APA style as well as sample papers with annotations (see "Social Sciences"). Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, by Diana Hacker.
  
  
• APA Citation Style
  Color-coded guide from Long Island University.
  
  
• Citing Sources
  From the Duke University Libraries.
  
  

MLA

• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA Formatting & Style Guide
  An excellent resource from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University.
  
  
• Research and Documentation Online- Diana Hacker
  Includes guidelines for documenting print and online sources in MLA style as well as sample papers with annotations (see "Humanities"). Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, by Diana Hacker.
  
  
• Documenting Sources in MLA Style: 2009 Update; A Hacker Handbooks Supplement
  Models and guidelines for creating in-text citations and works cited entries.
  
  
• MLA Citation Style
  Color-coded guide from Long Island University.
  
  
• Citing Sources
  From the Duke University Libraries.
  
  

Chicago & Turabian

• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
  An excellent resource from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University.
  
  

• Research and Documentation Online- Diana Hacker
  Includes guidelines for documenting print and online sources in Chicago style as well as sample papers with annotations (see "History"). Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, by Diana Hacker.
  
  

• Turabian Citation Style
  Color-coded guide from Long Island University.
  
  
• Citing Sources
  From the Duke University Libraries
  
  
• Library of Congress: Citing Primary Sources
  Designed for teachers, but has good information for everyone on finding and using primary sources in the digital collections of the Library of Congress, and citing them in Chicago style.

Avoiding Plagiarism

• Warning: When You Must Cite
  Cases in which you should ALWAYS CITE, from Yale University Writing Center.
  
  
• Quoting and Paraphrasing Sources
  From the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Writing Center. Includes how to avoid plagiarizing your sources, when and how to paraphrase or quote, and examples of successful vs. unsuccessful paraphrases.