QuickSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.
Community College library users may access the research databases from outside the college network with the MyVCCS login. The username and password are the same as for Canvas and student email.
A list of available databases can be found on the eResources A-Z page. To access an e-resource from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a MyVCCS user name and password:
What is a library database?
A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that contains articles and information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books.
Most of our databases are article databases.
An article database enables you to search through thousands (sometimes millions) of different magazines, journals and newspapers to find articles on a particular topic. Some of the articles you will find are Full Text, which means you can read (or print out) the entire article right there online. Other times the database will only provide you with an abstract, or summary of the article. Other times, the database will only give you a citation, which tells you where you can find a print version of the article.
Databases are not "internet" sources.
Although you access our databases from the internet, the articles you find in them are reprinted from real live print sources. Most of the things you find in our database cannot be found by searching Google or Wikipedia. These are subscription services that the library pays for. They are every bit a part of our library's collection as the books on our shelf, and unless you want to buy your own subscription, you must go through the library's website to access them.
Peer review means an article met certain standards for publication. In the peer review process, an article is submitted for review by either a panel of editors or subject experts and evaluated for accuracy. If the article meets with approval, it's published!
Many professors prefer peer-reviewed articles precisely because of this process. Through peer review, articles are less likely to be inaccurate and more likely to be trustworthy.