ENG 112 - Gleason

The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

An online gateway to resources on Chinese philosophy, society, language, history, politics, and more.

A great source of information and bibliographies about Chinese culture, including clothing, gardens, arts, and calligraphy, as well as Buddhism and geography.

China Online Museum primarily focuses on Chinese bronzes, calligraphy, painting, ceramics, jade and carving.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and The Times (London). Also contains selective full text for more than 335 U.S newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc. (EBSCOhost)

EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests. (EBSCO)

Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. (EBSCOHost)

Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale & Macmillan Reference USA sources. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada.

From the creation legend of Panku to the demise of the Han Dynasty, this program traces Chinese history and explores the roots of Chinese culture today. Visit the Great Wall of China as scholars discuss why it remains even today a symbol of oppression, exemplified in the legend of the weeping woman; the Imperial Palace and how it exemplifies Chinese beliefs in harmony; and the Beijing Opera, whose works are an elaborate retelling of traditional folktales. The influences of Buddhism, ancestor worship, and Taoism in China are also discussed, along with stunning footage of the Buddhist caves and the terra-cotta army. (50 minutes)

This eye-opening documentary follows four Chinese families as they step into the 21st century. Working without official permits, the filmmakers used compact digital video gear to record intimate portraits of ordinary people living in tumultuous times, capturing candid and sometimes emotional interviews.