LibGuides: Library Research: Find Sources

QuickSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Why Books?

Scholarly books, in either print or electronic format, remain to be an important source for researchers. They are a good source for:

Comprehensive research data and findings
Key concepts and terminology
illustrative materials, such as graphs, images, tables
References, indexes, and literature surveys or reviews

Find Books:

EBSCO eBook Collection 
An EBSCO collection of 60,000 eBook titles is integrated on EBSCOhost.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
This database provides access to more than 700 multidisciplinary reference sources.
Taylor & Francis eBooks 
The Taylor & Francis eBooks collection offer ebooks across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Education, Health, Medicine, Computer Science, and Information Technology.

What are Journal Articles?

Journal articles, also known as scholarly articles, academic article, or peer-reviewed articles, are written by scholars or professionals who are experts in their fields. They are an excellent source for: Stack of magazines with the top one open.

Highly credible and trustworthy information
Current research topics and findings
Various forms of information, such as graphs, tables, images
Bibliographies and references

Find Journal Articles:

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary scholarly article database with 4,600+ peer-reviewed journals.
EBSCOhost Databases
This lets you search multiple EBSCO databases at one time. Including Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, Humanities International Complete, and MasterFILE Premier.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Click the "Browse Issues" link in the center right of the homepage to go to an alphabetical list of potential essay topics.
Project MUSE
Started as a not-for-profit project by Johns Hopkins University Press, it provides online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Full text of most journals are covered from the past 10-15 years.

Information written by reporters (AKA journalists) on topics of current interest.

Key Features of News Sources:

Intended for a general audience; commonly written at about an 8th-grade reading level
Reviewed by one or more editors for quality and accuracy
Provide information on a recent event or topic of interest
Provide the perspectives of average people, not experts

IMPORTANT NOTE: Not all news sources are created equal! Some have hidden (or obvious!) motives or political beliefs. Do some background research into who owns the news organization to learn more about it.

Find News Sources:

Facts on File - Archival Film and Newsreels
Historical and archival film clips and newsreels searchable by seven eras from the late 1800s and by other categories such as title, type and producer.
Newspaper Source Plus 
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and The Times (London). Also contains selective full text for more than 335 U.S newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Click the "Browse Issues" link in the center right of the homepage to go to an alphabetical list of potential essay topics.