QuickSearch doesn't have everything! If you can't find what you need, check out the databases or contact a librarian for help.
Databases for General Content: click on each of the following database names to search for articles (you may have to login using your MyVCCS username and password to access these databases; it is the same information you use to access Canvas). Our two largest database collections are available through EBSCO and Gale.
Viruses
by
For all our hubris, humans can be felled rapidly by an invisible enemy - viruses. All around us are minute entities that can damage and kill: the millions of viruses that pervade the natural world. Our bodies harbor many that we have long tolerated, but a new one, that jumps into humans from another species, can be lethal - as we have seen most recently with the virus responsible for COVID-19. But what are viruses, how do they cause disease, and how can we fight them? In Viruses: The Invisible Enemy, a brand new edition of her classic work, virologist Dorothy Crawford explores these questions. She takes the reader on a journey through the past to show how, as the human race evolved from hunter gatherer to farmer to our present urban, industrialized society, viruses have taken advantage of each lifestyle change to promote their own survival. We have acquired many new viruses along the way, some spreading globally and causing killer diseases. But now, in the 21st century, as humans increasingly encroach into and exploit the natural world, the rate of emergence of novel viruses is accelerating. Already we've had a flu pandemic, large epidemics from SARS, Ebola and Zika viruses, and most devastating of all, SARS-CoV-2, which swept around the world in 2020-21, causing the COVID-19 pandemic. The response of scientists has been rapid, producing vaccines in record time. But we can expect more such challenges in the future. This book discusses why and how SARS-CoV-2 and other killer viruses emerged, and how we can win the battle against such an enemy.
Community College library users may access the research databases from outside the college network with the MyVCCS login. The username and password are the same as for Canvas and student email.
A list of available databases can be found on the eResources A-Z page. To access an e-resource from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a MyVCCS user name and password:
| Franklin 757-569-6741 |
Suffolk 757-925-6345 |
|
Monday - Thursday: |
Monday - Thursday: |
|
Friday: |
Friday: |
Student IDs are available in the libraries and at the Smithfield Center!
