Fables and Fairy Tales by 
C. S. Lewis
Ever since children have learned to read, there has been children's literature. "Children's Literature "charts the makings of the Western literary imagination from Aesop's fables to Mother Goose, from "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" to Peter Pan, from "Where the Wild Things Are "to Harry Potter. a The only single-volume work to capture the rich and diverse history of children's literature in its full panorama, this extraordinary book reveals why J. R. R. Tolkien, Dr. Seuss, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Beatrix Potter, and many others, despite their divergent styles and subject matter, have all resonated with generations of readers.
The Historical Dictionary of Children's Literature relates the history of children's literature through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, books, and genres. Some of the most legendary names in all of literature are covered in this important reference, including Hans Christian Anderson, L. Frank Baum, Lewis Carroll, Roald Dahl, Charles Dickens, C.S. Lewis, Beatrix Potter, J.K. Rowling, Robert Louis Stevenson, Mark Twain, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jules Verne, and E.B. White.
Children's Literature is an accessible introduction to this engaging field. Carrie Hintz offers a defining conceptual overview of children's literature that presents its competing histories, its cultural contexts, and the theoretical debates it has instigated. Positioned within the wider field of adult literary, film, and television culture, this book also covers: Ideological and political movements Children's literature in the age of globalization Postcolonial literature, ecocriticism, and animal studies Each chapter includes a case study featuring well-known authors and titles, including Charlotte's Web, Edward Lear, and Laura Ingalls Wilder. With a comprehensive glossary and further reading, this book is invaluable reading for anyone studying Children's Literature.
This book explores how the concept of childhood in the late-18th century was constructed through the ideological work performed by children's literature, as well as pedagogical writing and medical literature of the era. Andrew O'Malley ties the evolution of the idea of "the child" to the growth of the middle class, which used the figure of the child as a symbol in its various calls for social reform.
Edited by Peter Hunt, a leading figure in the field, this book introduces the study of children's literature, addressing theoretical questions as well as the most relevant critical approaches to the discipline. The fourteen chapters draw on insights from academic disciplines ranging from cultural and literary studies to education and psychology, and include an essay on what writers for children think about their craft.
This two-volume collection of folktales represents some of the finest examples of American oral tradition. Drawn from the largest archive of American folk culture, the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, this set comprises magic tales, legends, jokes, tall tales and personal narratives, many of which have never been transcribed before, much less published, in a sweeping survey.
This marvellous collection brings together the great myths and legends of the United States-from the creation stories of the first inhabitants, to the tall tales of the Western frontier, to the legendary outlaws of the 1920s, and beyond.
Lyn Ford has gathered a broad range of stories: trickster tales and pourquoi tales for young listeners as well as Jack tales, fool tales, wisdom tales, and ghost stories for adolescents and adults. Her notes and narrative affectionately reveal the traditions and values of a culture that is new to many of us.
Every American has heard of the lumberjack hero Paul Bunyan and his big blue ox. For 100 years his exploits filled cartoons, magazines, short stories, and children's books, and his name advertised everything from pancake breakfasts to construction supplies.